Donor Newsletter – “Connections” – Article: Joseph’s Journal

Here we are, Lord. Another challenging morning in Pharaoh’s pit with the rats, the stench and the really bad singing. Guess everybody in the land–including disgraced bakers and butlers–want to be the next Egyptian Idol. Seshtinkt! As for me, well I don’t feel much like singing. What’s with Potiphar anyway? After all I did for the guy! Yet, I’m the one rotting in prison. And all because of a woman …

Client: CBE/Tandem

Product: “Connections” Donor Newsletter – Article: Joseph’s Journal

Article as laid out in newsletter  (Also wrote Eternal Hope in Japan)

Pharaoh’s dungeon. Heliopolis, Egypt. Day 56.

Here we are, Lord. Another challenging morning in Pharaoh’s pit with the rats, the stench and the really bad singing. Guess everybody in the land–including disgraced bakers and butlers–want to be the next Egyptian Idol. Seshtinkt! As for me, well I don’t feel much like singing. What’s with Potiphar anyway? After all I did for the guy! Yet, I’m the one rotting in prison. And all because of a woman.

Okay, so enough with the bitterness already. What was it that the king’s cup bearer said the other day? Oh yeah, “Bitterness is a poison you swallow but expect someone else to die from?” Gevalt! You know I was pretty angry when my brothers threw me into the well and sold me to those Bedouin merchants. I mean, how could they have done that to me…inarguably the best-looking guy in the bunch and an awesome dresser besides! Guess I should have tried running around in a gnarly goat-hair garment, working 24/7 instead of strutting about in my amazing Technicolor dream coat. If I were them, I would have thrown me into an empty cistern and sold me to the first guy who came along!

So, I’m guessing this whole Potiphar thing is yet another “leader-in-the-making” test from You, Lord? (Sure have had a lot of those lately.) Well, I say, “Here’s to you, Mrs. Potiphar: “Hell may hath no fury like a woman scorned” but my God can–and will–work out all things out for my good!

So, Lord, I choose to believe that despite my rather dire circumstances, all Your promises are faithful and true, and that You’ll count my unwavering belief in You as righteousness… just like You did for Father Abraham. Thanks, Lord, have to go now; looks like the king’s baker has had another bad dream.

###

About seekandfind

I'm a strategic storyteller/copywriter who is divinely wired to be idea-driven, strategic minded & cause motivated.

No comments yet... Be the first to leave a reply!

Leave a Reply

